Make your own liquid handwash from a soap bar

I read somewhere on the Internet that you can make about a litre of liquid soap from a soap bar. After running out of handwash on a Sunday, I thought of testing it out (the things I do to avoid doing work!)

I didn’t make the soap from scratch. I’m sure there’s a way of making it all natural but, let’s face it, every time I’ve tried to make a cleaner/soap from scratch I’ve ended up having to wash myself with the real thing afterwards, so it wasn’t worth the risk.

You’ll need:
– A soap bar
– Glycerin (I used the one you buy in tiny bottles for baking)
– Water
– A cheese grater and a pan

Ingredients to make liquid soap

First, grate the soap bar using the cheese grater.

Grated soap bar

Once it’s all grated, add a teaspoon of glycerin and 4 or 5 cups of water (the one I’d seen said two cups of water for every cup of soap and it ended up thickening so much I couldn’t get it out of the bottle). Put the pan in the stove and stir it on a low heat until the grated soap has melted. The consistency of this mixture won’t be thick at all, but it’ll thicken when it sets, so don’t worry about it looking too thin and watered-down.

Soap flakes and water

Set the pan aside for a few minutes until it has cooled down a bit and transfer into empty bottles (I’d use a funnel if I was you, I got soap all over the kitchen worktop!)

When it sets, it’ll just thicken into a creamy gel. If it’s still too thick, just add a bit of warm water and shake well. If you’re also a bit of a cheapskate, you’ll be glad to know you’ve now got more than 3/4 bottles of handwash for less than 50p.

Liquid handwash

Leave a Reply

