No added sugar gluten free banana and oat cakes

Banana and oat cakes

It has been a while since I last updated this. I’ve been dead busy with work and I’ve neglected the blog – apologies. I’m sure a break from the cat pictures was welcome by some anyway…

Here is a recipe for breakfast muffins/cakes that I made up and, surprisingly enough, turned out ok. I’m sure I’ve said this before, but I’m rubbish at following recipes and always end up improvising and guessing ingredient quantities. Most of the time, the result is a cake disaster, but every now and again it works.

These are a solid version of banana porridge. They’re quite dense, but much healthier than eating cake and a good substitute for porridge if you’re in a rush. I added a bit of gram flour and baking powder to make them a bit more cakey, so they’re still gluten free. I’m sure it would work with wheat flour too.

Ingredients:

– 3 cups Rolled oats
– 4 ripe bananas
– 1 tablespoon gram flour (you can use wheat flour instead)
– 1 teaspoon baking powder

Mash the bananas and mix with oats. If the mixture is too dry, add more bananas and if it’s too gooey, add some more oats. As I said, I never measure anything and depending on the size/ripeness of the bananas, you might need to add a bit more oats, but the mixture is roughly 50/50.

Banana and oat cakes

Add the (gram) flour and baking powder. Mix well and pour onto muffin moulds.

Banana and oat cakes

Bake until golden. Leave to cool and enjoy!

Banana and oat cakes

Banana and oat cakes

Banana and oat cakes

2 thoughts on “No added sugar gluten free banana and oat cakes

Leave a Reply

